Agenda and minutes

Thursday, 11th February, 2021 5.30 pm

Venue: by Video conference

Contact: James Clapson 


No. Item


Apologies for Absence


Minutes of the Previous Meeting pdf icon PDF 239 KB




Declarations of Interest pdf icon PDF 87 KB


Treasury Management Strategy 2021-22 pdf icon PDF 252 KB


2021-22 Budget pdf icon PDF 281 KB

    Additional documents:


    It was noted that in accordance with council procedure rule 17.6, a recorded vote would be taken on the motion or any amendments and substantive motions.


    It was proposed by Councillor Yates and seconded by Councillor Albon, that the recommendations set out in the report be agreed, namely:


    That Council approves:

    1.  The General Fund revenue budget estimates for 2021-22 are approved, assuming a £4.99 increase in the band D equivalent for Council Tax. 

    2.  The HRA budget estimates for 2021-22 are approved, assuming a CPI+1% increase in social rents and a freeze in affordable rents. 

    3.  The General Fund and Housing Revenue Account capital programmes for 2021-25 are approved. 

    4.  The Flexible Use of Capital Receipts Strategy for 2021-22 is approved. 

    5.  The Section 151 Officer’s Assurance Statement is noted.


    The Deputy Monitoring Officer conducted a recorded vote on the motion as follows:


    45 Members voted in favour the motion: Councillors Albon, Ara, Ashbee, Bailey, Bambridge, J. Bayford, R. Bayford, Boyd, Coleman-Cooke, Crittenden, Currie, Day, Dennis, Dexter, Duckworth, Everitt, Fellows, Game, Green, Gregory, Hart, Hopkinson, Huxley, Kup, Pat Moore, Paul Moore, Ovenden, Parsons, L. Piper, S. Piper, Pugh, Rattigan, Rawf, Rogers, Rusiecki, D. Saunders, M. Saunders, Savage, Scobie, Shrubb, Tomlinson, Towning, Whitehead, Wright, and Yates.


    No Member voted against the motion.


    Three Members abstained from voting on the motion: Councillors Garner, Roper and Wing.


    The motion was carried.



Members Allowances Scheme 2021/22 pdf icon PDF 80 KB


Changes To Committees, Panels and Boards - 2020/21 pdf icon PDF 86 KB

    Additional documents:




    It was proposed by the Chairman, seconded by the Vice-Chairman, and Members agreed the option detailed in paragraph 3.4.1 of the report, namely:


    That a seat on the Overview and Scrutiny Panel is removed and that the Thanet Independent Group representation on the Overview and Scrutiny is reduced from two seats to one seat.”





    The Leader advised that Councillor Campbell would be replaced by Councillor Albon on the General Purposes Committee, Councillor Currie on the Overview and Scrutiny Panel and Councillor Scobie on the Standards Committee.  There was not a replacement for Councillor Campbell as reserve on the Planning Committee at this time.


    Councillor Rev Piper advised that Councillor Rusiecki would fill the currently vacant seat of former Councillor Taylor on the Planning Committee.


    Members offered their best wishes to Councillor Campbell regarding his health, and offered thanks to former Councillor Taylor for his effort and dedication as a Thanet District Councillor.